» San Antonio DWI Lawyer
Have you recently been charged with a DWI in San Antonio or one of the surrounding communities, if so you need an experienced San Antonio DWI Attorney to represent you in court. The punishment for being found guilty or pleading guilty to a DWI in San Antonio can be harsh. You could face penalties such as:
- Alcohol Classes
- Interlock Device
- Jail Time
- Thousands in Fines & Penalties
As a San Antonio DWI attorney I offer free consultations 7 days a week and can post bail 24/7. The DA is already preparing to convict you, what are you doing to fight for your freedom?
If you have been arrested & charged with a DWI in San Antonio, you must hire a qualified and experienced San Antonio DWI Attorney to be in your corner to fight for your rights. Acting quick & consulting with a San Antonio DWI Lawyer about your arrest has countless benefits. By waiting, you are only hurting your case and opening yourself up to a more expenses & harsher punishments.
With more than 15 years of DWI defense in Texas, I know you need someone with a thorough knowledge of the complexities of Drunk Driving laws in San Antonio & surrounding areas.
My friends always ask me, “what is the best way to avoid a DWI?” The simple answer is to not drink and drive at all, or, get a designated driver. But, contrary to what we hear all the time, it is not against the law to have a drink and then drive a car. We see the signs on the highways and on television. “DRINK, DRIVE AND GO TO JAIL.”
That is not the law! Texas law says it’s illegal to drive a car (or operate a boat) if you are intoxicated. It is legal to have a drink and then drive home as long as you are not “intoxicated.” You can have a drink or two, be under the influence of alcohol and then drive, as long as you are not “intoxicated.” Intoxication is defined as not having the normal use of your mental or physical faculties or having a concentration of alcohol in your body of .08 or higher at the time that you are driving.
So you are out enjoying the lake or a barbecue and you have a few drinks. It’s the end of the night and its time to drive home. What do you do? If you drank too much, then call for a ride. But what if you had a couple, you feel fine, you drive home and you get pulled over....now what
Follow a few simple rules:
1.DO stay calm and be polite to the officer. Being rude is not going to help.
2.DO show the officer your driver’s license and insurance. It’s the law.
3.DO remain silent. You have a constitutional right to remain silent - so use it! (You don’t have to answer the officer’s questions and tell him where you’ve been, what you drank, how many drinks you’ve had or anything else for that matter.)
4.DO ask to call your lawyer before you do anything or answer any questions. It’s your constitutional right to have your attorney advise you.
5.DO NOT take the field sobriety test. You are not legally required. You didn't’t have to do them to get your license so what is the purpose of doing them now?
6.DO NOT take a breath or blood test. You can and should refuse! You have to be under arrest for an officer to give you a breath test. So if you are under arrest for DWI, then what is the point of taking the test? The officer is not going to just let you go.
» Free Consultation
» Practice Areas
- Criminal Defense
- Assault & Battery
- Probation Violation
- Traffic Ticket
» Contact Information
909 NE Loop 410 Suite 715
San Antonio, Texas 78209
Tel: (210) 495-9999
Fax: (210) 822-1208
Email: Click Here